AFGHANISTAN: Even where child rape is an everyday occurrence, the rape of a 3-year-old girl shocks community | BARE NAKED ISLAM

Listless and silent, 3-year-old Neelofar is in a critical condition after being gagged, raped, and nearly killed by an 18-year-old neighbor, in a male-dominated and segregated society, where rape victims are viewed as outcasts, even as prostitutes.

_79142233_79142232

BBC   The girl’s father, Abdul, fears that because they are poor, the authorities will not take the case seriously and ensure the man responsible is prosecuted. “If the government does not give me my rights based on Sharia and Afghan law, I will bring my other six children and kill them in front of the presidential palace and I will leave Afghanistan. My wife and mother also say they will kill themselves.”

The rape of Neelofar is just one of several attacks on young Afghan children which have occurred this month. Doctors are hopeful she will survive her injuries. But it is not clear if she will ever be able to return to her village because of the stigma of being raped.